Where to Go After Learning JS?

As I’m sure many newbies like me must be, I’m confused as to where I should go next, after completing my HTML/CSS and JavaScript lessons on freeCodeCamp. Should I be learning about frameworks next? Something else? I’m really not sure what the next logical step would be for a complete newbie like me who wants to eventually be able to do some freelance front-end dev coding remotely. Does anyone have any good insight on this, preferably from experience? Also, I am convinced I will never EVER fully comprehend JS…just putting that out there. :smirk:

2 Likes

Hi @Charly

Don’t say that!! Don’t be so hard with yourself :sweat_smile:. Javascript is a wild and furious horse, but beautiful and wonderful when you tame him, or at least when is your friend, :wink: I think it is my friend already, :laughing:. Lots of things to do…

I am not a professional but I think that Scrimba courses are a great way to practice you recent skills and a good way to inspire you to start your own projects. Very practical all the courses and you will learn about the DOM as well. Free Courses in Scrimba. Their community is really active in Discord and a lot of people there happy to help and with more knowledge and time than me. :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

Another great course, well all courses he has for free are great, is JavScript30 by Wes Bos, a lot of good projects to practice and learn modern JS, even though is an old course. Follow him is you like his style because he is an imaginative guy and is always playing or trying to break something. :wink:

After start to feel confident with JavaScript you could start with React, for example, right now is easier to learn because it uses functional programming approach, so pretty much like writting JavaScript. Bob Ziroll is great for beginners, he explains things really great. He is on Scrimba and in FreeCodeCamp YouTube channel or News (without publicity).