Recommended books about web development for beginners?

Hi everyone, I hope you’re enjoying the bootcamp as much as I am!

I’d like to delve deeper into some foundational concepts behind the frond end web development. It’s much more helpful for me to have my practice backed up by theory, so I was thinking about reading a book or two.
But there’s so many of them available! I want to be sure I use my time only for the best, and as a beginner, I have no skills to distiguish the bad or outdated advice from the good stuff.

So here are some questions for those of you with more experience:

1. Could you recommend one or two up-to-date foundational books for html5, css and javascript to start with?

2. Could you recommend a good book about the coding/programming mindset, pro-tips and best practices? Like not so much “use this or that class/property” but rather “here are the things you need to know to avoid the mistakes I’ve done” or “here are the habits of the best devs” kind of books?

3. I’ve read a lot of good opinions about the “Clean Code” book by Robert C. Martin. From what I can tell, the main concept is that code should be written from the start as readable to humans with minimal additional explanations. Would you recommend this book for a beginner? Is it still relevant, considering it’s been published in 2008? Or maybe it’s useful only for devs working in teams for big companies, since it mentions agile and collaborative processeses?

Thanks a lot for all the answers, have a great day!

7 Likes
  1. Can’t help you there. I generally stay away from books on specific technologies, some of them are outdated by the time they’re printed. With that said there are places to get in a ton of theory, like MDN’s Learn Web Development (which is updated regularly and text based)

2. There are quite a few of these, and you could find curated lists with a quick google. One book I have to mention is The Pragmatic Programmer . The gold standard imo